10 faqs + a little oxford

Happy Saturday All!

It’s been so fun to hear from people all over that are following along here and maybe thinking about taking the leap to living abroad themselves. I thought I’d jot down 10 faqs I’ve been getting + a few pictures of a day trip to Oxford I took on Thanksgiving.

oxford-45

1 – What in the heck are you doing?

I’m doing a one year, full time Master’s of Business Administration graduate degree at Richmond the American University in London. Oofta – that’s a mouthful.

2 – Why London?

I’ve always been a bit of an Anglophile (I think any girl over 10 years old that watched the Royal Wedding is with me..) and loved London when I was here briefly in 2011. There’s no language barrier and they’re known for their fantastic university system. Plus it’s just so darn cute!

oxford-38

3 – What are you going to do after?

Great question. My end goal is to be a professor and teach at a university level (Hiii Bethel) but that’s probably still a bit down the road. I’ve tossed around going straight into a PhD but otherwise it’s back into the workforce for me!

4 – What was the process like to apply, get a visa, move, etc.?

How much time do you have? I’m hoping to write a massive post over Christmas Break outlining the year+ process that went into coming here. It was an undertaking but so, so worth it.

oxford-67

5 – Do you miss Minnesota?

Yes, of course! I was really concerned before coming that it would just be too hard to make a permanent move. It’s one thing to have the travel bug and a whole other to uproot your life, miss out on things back home, etc. But God has been so faithful to provide friendships, a church and just His Presence in such a big way. I’ve rarely struggled with homesickness and London feels like home.

6 – Who’s taking all of the pictures of you?

My friend Alba is an INCREDIBLE photographer and I’m lucky enough to reap the benefits of traveling with her. If you see a picture that looks like it wasn’t taken by some random girl with her iPhone it’s probably Alba’s 🙂 Check her out – http://www.albaquezada.com/

oxford1

7 – What’s the feeling on Brexit?

Well… let’s just say the US has the Trump Presidency and Britain has Brexit. No matter which way you voted it’s still a sensitive issue and talked about constantly. Most Londoners voted to Remain so it’s especially tense in the city. The official move out of the EU is supposed to happen in March but that’s still up in the air.

8 – I’m coming to London! What should I do? Where should I go?

Welcome! You’ll never run out of things to do here. Here’s a few of my favorites but I’d also recommend checking out my favorite blogger at http://www.aspiringkennedy.com/ for more!

Neighborhoods to Explore: Kensington, Hampstead, Fitzrovia, Marylebone, Camden, Westminster

To Do: Walk Southbank, Museums (all free! V&A, British Museum, Natural History), tour Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park/Kensington Palace, Camden Town Market, Evensong at Westminster Abbey, Little Venice, see a show at West End with dinner in Chinatown beforehand, Spend an evening at a pub

oxford-10 oxford-9

9 – What has been your favorite place you’ve traveled to so far?

This trip to Europe:

Scotland (Edinburgh and the Highlands)

Other favorites from past European trips:

Heidelberg, Germany | Florence, Italy | Salzburg, Austria | Normandy, France

10 – How can we be praying for you?

The best question of the lot.

I’ve felt surrounded by immense support and love throughout this entire journey. My number one prayer is that I would be open to whatever God has for me here and aware of His work in my life. That I approach life with arms wide open and be able to hear His voice. That I can impact others in a positive way and be a light to them.

Practically – safe travel, developing of relationships back home as well as in London and passing all my classes are appreciated as well 🙂

oxford-73

Leave a Reply

